Throwback Music Friday!

jjack

I love to listen to ol’skool music from back in the day, so I thought it would be fun to post some music on Friday’s that I love. First up, Ms. Jackson if you’re nasty! My girl, Janet Jackson.

When I was younger I loved her music and her videos. I can’t begin to tell you how many times my friends and I practiced the moves in Pleasure Principle and Rhythm Nation. I can still bust some of those moves now, though I could wind up sore for a week.

The song I chose this time is Twenty Foreplay off her Design of a Decade album. This song is one of her least known but is no less great. What struck me when I first saw the video is how it harkens back to old Hollywood glam. There she is in all of her retro beauty, getting off the plane in Cannes, with all the photographers and fans trying to get autographs and the money shots…. visually stunning, shot completely in black and white. The entire video follows her from Cannes, back to Hollywood on through to her on the set of a new film.

220px-Twenty_Foreplay

She is seriously channeling her inner Dorothy Dandridge. But even in black and white, Janet Jackson is gorgeous and the song is so sultry and sexy. So here you are, from 1995, Janet Jackson’s Twenty Foreplay.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Browse Category

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Latest Tweets

  • Category Cloud