My Homage to Vintage Fashion – Glamour at It’s Finest!

Chic...I just can't get enough of looking elegant. I wish this style of dress would re-emerge with a vengeance.

I was looking through some old pics of my mom and her sisters. Let me tell you those women knew how to dress! They were the epitome of beauty, elegance and sophistication. I remember my mom going to the supermarket in pumps, her requisite A-line sleeveless dress (depending on the season) or her St. John Knits. I use to think that my mom was the most beautiful woman I had ever seen and I wanted to be just like her. That was back in the day when women wouldn’t be caught dead without their hair coiffed, their make-up applied to perfection and looking every bit like they’ve just stepped off the pages of some fashion magazine.

Unfortunately for my mom, her daughter received part of the text because I was a late in life baby, so my era was between the 80’s big hair and shoulder pads moving on to the 90’s with Doc Martins and Grunge. Though I can clean up nicely, it’s become a chore. So in honor of my mom, I wanted to share some of the photos I’ve collected and admire and these photos are simply awesome. Sometimes I do long for those days because then, it was just a normal part of a woman’s life. So I hope you enjoy stepping back in time with me.

Judy Dent dress, Berlin 1962L'Officiel December 1962Pierre Balmain,1957

Balenciaga cocoon coat, 1957.Oliviero Toscani#Vintage Glamour

Model is wearing a tweed suit with fur collar by Carven, handbag and gloves by HermÚs, Paris 1959. I would wear this now. Classic styles are timeless.I would love to recreate look this for my own personal ego boost. Elegance pose and gown.September 8th, 1952

Charm Magazine, 1955Dovima for Enka Rayon, circa 1950’sElle channels the '50s

Revillon 1956 Clifford CoffinJean Shrimpton, photo John French. Cannot get enough of hats!Stunning retro.

Beautiful 1950's evening gownGorgeous 1960s style....I was born in the wrong era.Beverly Johnson 1973 - Vogue

Suzy ParkerVeruschka 1965The caption that accompanied this photo in LIFE: "In fitted silk apricot dress, Jackie walks through crowds at Udaipur, where she was given a noisy reception."

Can’t forget Jackie Kennedy, Lena Horne or Dorothy Dandridge,

President-elect John Kennedy with Jackie in January 1961. She would have been 83 yrs. old today.Lena Horne - In this photo  from May 1956, she is trying on a dress - and wearing those saleswomen out
  Photo: William Lovelace/Express/Getty Images.

Dorothy DandridgeLife Magazine 1952

Nice color and lovely silhouette.VANITY FAIR 1953Givenchy - 1967

Sharon Stone – This is What I Want To Look Like When I Grow Up.

sharon stone boyfriend

This past week Sharon Stone had a scare at the Fendi Fashion Show in Milan. She fainted, was taken to the hospital  and luckily all is well. It was related to migraines, she was released and later appeared on the red carpet with her hot young boyfriend Martin Mica for the AmFar Foundation Gala.

This is what a Hollywood star is suppose to look like… svelte, glamorous and exuding star-power. All I can say is if 54 looks like this, then bring it on? Also, could I have a sexy 27 yr. old boyfriend too? Sharon has never looked better and whatever she’s doing…keep it up girl!

666 Park Avenue – Is Anyone Ready to Meet the Residents of The Drake?

Image

I admit that I’m not a big fan of Broadcast TV. My favorite shows are Boardwalk Empire, Magic City, True Blood (before it became too damn freaky and convoluted) and I’m warming to the Newsroom. But last year I found some truly interesting non-cable shows that I’ve begun to follow; Scandal with Kerry Washington (I just don’t know why she’s never skyrocketed to stardom), Revenge which keeps your butt glued to your couch from the time it comes on until the end credits, American Horror Story (Jessica Lange was at her most creepy) and my sentimental favorite Pan Am…I love…love…love period pieces and that show was just starting to gain momentum, but unfortunately, networks have no patience for shows to find their audience and some trigger happy network suit gave it the ax. I was really hoping some other channel would realize the potential and pick it up.

Now we’re poised for this season’s flops, failures and bubbles…who knows what will emerge as the next sizzling show on TV this year, but the two shows I’ve watched so far were less than praise-worthy…one more than the other. First up, Revolution on NBC. It stars Billy Burke – Bella Swan’s dad from the Twilight movies and Tracy Spiridakos. The premise of the show is that the electricity has gone out (or has it) and mankind has to resort to their basic primitive instincts for survival. A rather standard post-apocalyptic tale with the fearless female, the reluctant male hero and their sidekicks on a journey to find what’s behind the world’s problems with the bad guys in hot pursuit. Oh, before I forget, there seems to be a burgeoning love story in the offing…but isn’t it always.

Revolution Poster

This one has potential, the acting is solid and if the writers stay focused…don’t start getting too deeply into the love aspects and give the viewers plenty of action, it could be a keeper. Next up is Bomb Girls on the Reelz Channel, the same one who brought us The Kennedys miniseries. Okay I know it’s not on broadcast but I did watch the premiere. I can’t begin to tell you what’s wrong with this little blast from the past but I can tell you what’s right…when they roll credits and it over. The show is about the women during WWII who built bombs in the munitions factories while the men where off at war. In this instance, you have the rich wild girl whose parents want her to get married, settle down and have a respectable life. However, she has other ideas. Then there’s the matronly, long-suffering woman played by Meg Tilly, and if I were she, I’d be completely irritated because they have her looking as though she’s 75.  And the rest of the women are just knee-deep in personal drama and crisis, none of which are the least bit interesting. Oops, I forgot, there’s a male lead but why mention him because he’s there for…well, I’m not quite sure for what, so I’ll get back to you on that one.

Bomb Girls Poster

Finally, my new favorite — 666 Park Avenue. I had the chance to view the pilot and it is a combination of The Devil’s Advocate, The Shining, Poltergeist and just about any good horror flick coming down the ramp. Terry O’Quinn and Vanessa Williams are devilishly delightful to watch and this one has a ton of twists and turns but you can follow the story-lines with ease. Terry and Vanessa play husband and wife at the swanky New York hotel The Drake. Terry is the manager and Vanessa is his partner in evil. Once there, all of your fantasies, dreams and desires can true but at a price. Without spoiling it, there’s some otherworldly, spooky goings on at The Drake and if you don’t like unexpected eeriness, than this isn’t the show for you. But I love it…if the writers can hold our attention as well as they did in the pilot, this show will be around for a very long time.

666 Park Avenue Poster

Liz & Dick – Why We’ve Forgotten Lindsay Lohan IS Such A Good Actress

Image

It’s very easy to forget that youth is a time for reckless abandon; partying, finding yourself (sometimes with the wrong person and in the wrong place at the wrong time), buying those shoes, handbags or what not that you know is way over your budget but not giving a damn because you had to have them, breaking up over and over with a boyfriend or girlfriend you know is toxic, but they’re hot and the sex is great (or so you think), drinking way too much, puking your guts out, passing out in your clothes and make-up, waking up later that morning feeling like warmed over death, only to do it all over again the next night because that’s what young people do.

Lindsay Lohan is no different from any other out-of-control youth who thinks she’s got it ALL under control. No one can tell a young person shit and I was no exception. But here’s the thing, she’s an addict and as an addict with a self-destructive personality, she has to stay away from certain stressors and triggers that can negate any progress she’s made. Lindsay left Los Angeles waxing poetic about how LA is too this and too that. So now she’s in New York and guess what, her ass is in a jam yet again. Why, because she hasn’t really embraced who she is in regards to her addiction. Nothing is under control in her life until she owns up to her addictions and completely exorcises the things and people who keep pulling her down into the abyss. Unfortunately we may keep seeing the Lindsay headlines until, and I’m hoping this will never happen, there will be a final tragic headline lamenting her untimely death.

When she was younger, Lindsay was heralded as a great young actress in the making and I still think her talent is there. However, the Hollywood powers-that-be and the public’s patience, has run short. We live in an instant gratification society. Our attention span is mega-short and we’re always looking for the next great idea, hot gadget, newest gizmo and “it boy and it girl”. That’s the reality of a social media driven world and a 24 hour news cycle.  If she wants to salvage what’s left of her career, it’s time for her to be honest with herself and those around her about what’s important. She’s 26 yrs. old now and yes that’s still young enough to turn her life around, but how many chances does one person get?

During the press junket for “A Prairie Home Companion”, Meryl Streep was asked about Lindsay and her talent.  Meryl, who is considered the grande dame of the Hollywood elite, had nothing but praise and hope for Lindsay to achieve her full potential. When you have an Academy Award winning actress of Streep’s caliber pulling for you, you need to seriously step back and reflect on where you’re going wrong. But in true Lindsay form, she got into more trouble and continued her descent.

Fast forward to the present, here we are with la Lohan playing one of the most beloved and iconic actresses of the golden era of Hollywood, albeit on Lifetime, but it is a step in the right direction or so we thought. What happened during the filming of Liz and Dick, Lindsay gets into another car accident and of course, as usual, it wasn’t her fault. And by the way, someone needs to take away her keys or a judge needs to order her not to drive because Ms. Thang is a menace, but that’s just a mini rant on my part…couldn’t help it.

Even the woman she’s portraying had her share of foibles, missteps and bad judgement, but Elizabeth Taylor faced it all with class, grace and dignity. She never blamed anyone but herself for her headline making bad behavior and that’s why she was always forgiven. In contrast, the only time Lindsay shows a modicum of contrition is when she’s in court trying to stay out of jail and even then, she’s as phony as Kim Kardashian’s 72 day marriage.

When the announcement was made that she was staring in Liz and Dick, I admit I was skeptical at first because I love myself some Elizabeth Taylor and thought there was no way under the sun Lindsay could pull that off. Then I started thinking, this is a young woman who is immensely talented and why not? I actually started pulling for her. If the reviews are good and the audience watches (in droves for cable and satellite), then this could be the catalyst needed to propel her into better projects.

Since the news broke on her latest arrest, which may threaten her probation in Los Angeles, I’m about ready to throw in the towel. New York was supposed to be a fresh start, away from the rabid paparazzi and here we go again. It’s obvious that Lindsay has no one looking out for her best interests and now it may be time for the book to be thrown at that noggin. If the charges stand up in court, at this point, the only thing I feel will be a jolt to her system is cooling her heels in the gray bar motel for a good long time.

Liz and Dick has one major hurdle to overcome and that’s…Lindsay Lohan.  What a pity that such a fascinating story about the love affair of the 20th century had to be marred by a young woman who is the train wreck of the 21st century. But isn’t that what Hollywood loves…building people up only to tear them down and make a movie about the result? Let’s just keep hoping that if a move is ever made about Lindsay Lohan’s life, it won’t be a tragedy but a triumph.

UPDATE:  10/13/2012 – Lindsay and her mom had this big argument with accusations lobbed like scud missiles at each other. It seems that Lindsay gave her mother 40 thousand dollars to save her home from foreclosure. Lindsay turned to her father for comfort (big mistake) and was betrayed by him releasing the tapes of their conversation to the media. Is there any doubt why Lindsay is screwed up…look at her parents.