Ralph Lauren’s New “Plus-size” Model…Really?

I was reading the headlines today that Ralph Lauren signed Robyn Lawley as his first plus-size model. Robyn is gorgeous…has that familiar Ralph Lauren face which exudes east coast sophistication, summers in the Hamptons, with an equestrian type of vibe, but she’s also 6’2 and a size 12.

According to various sources; Mayo Clinic, Fit Information, BMI Chart to name a few, a woman of her height should weigh somewhere between 144 – 165 pounds. Her size 12, on a 6’2 woman is considered slim. So this brings me to my question…how in the Hell is a size 12, 6’2 woman considered plus-size? I know the fashion industry lives in a world of their own design (no pun intended) and anyone who has actually eaten since the 90’s is considered harpoon ready, but this is ridiculous.

I applaud Ralph Lauren for putting a woman in his campaign that we all don’t want to tie to a chair and feed her butter, but trying to pawn this young woman off as a leader in changing the image of models in an industry that worships eating disorders, is disingenuous. She is well above the average height for American women and just about all women in general. Her size 12 would truly be plus-size on someone 4’11 but on her, it looks natural. Mind you, she doesn’t have that hungry, mad and emaciated look, but in the photos, if you weren’t told that she was “plus-size”, you couldn’t tell.

So this brings me to the last part of my complete bewilderment: Is this what we’ve become as a society? Do we really want our little girls to grow up thinking that if they’re a normal size, then there must be something wrong that needs fixing? I have a god-daughter and three nieces and I for one, do not want them thinking that their value and self-esteem is tied up in how they look.

I don’t want them to look at celebrities, models, magazines, the media, social networking sites and damn near every other commercial on TV, instructing them on how to be beautiful and skinny forever. That feat is impossible no matter how much money you have and how much cosmetic surgery you do, we are not designed to stay frozen in time. But what is extremely disturbing and frightening is that there are all sorts of subliminal and outright blatant messages being sent to young girls earlier and earlier that beauty, not brains, is all that matters. If you’re beautiful, you’ve got it made…hands down.

Then there’s the other layer…the parents who’ve drank the Kool Aid and are pushing their daughters to insanity with their criticisms and their own pursuit of perfection. Oh yes, I’ve witnessed those mothers…giving their daughters breast enhancements and tummy tucks at 16 for birthday presents, criticizing their kids in front of other people about their weight, wanting to live vicariously through their daughters because of their own failed careers in acting, modeling and beauty pageants. And, these are the very people who would find any and everything wrong with Ralph Lauren using Robyn in his campaign because she doesn’t fit the image of a beautiful, sexy, desirable woman. Why…because they’ve been brainwashed so much over the years on what women are SUPPOSE to look like, they’ve forgotten what we ACTUALLY look like.

As I said before, even Robyn isn’t necessarily “normal” according to popular standards and that has more to do with her height than anything else. But at this moment, we’ve got to take what we can get and what we’re getting is a lot better than what we’ve had.

Robyn Lawley Becomes First Plus Size Ralph Lauren Model

Posted: 09/19/2012 3:06 pm Updated: 09/19/2012 5:57 pm

Plus-size shapes have been inching further and further into the mainstream, from magazine covers like Vogue Italia and Glamour to high-end designer lines like Burberry. But Robyn Lawley, one of the most successful plus-size models in the biz, is going where no plus-size stunner has gone before: Ralph Lauren.

Lawley announced her new gig as the first plus-size model for Ralph Lauren on “Good Morning America” today. The size 12 model, who stands at a statuesque 6 feet 2 inches tall, spoke to “GMA” about her journey to get here — how she initially worked as a “straight” model at age 16, felt the pressure to diet and change her body, and eventually hit her stride as a plus-size mode at 19.

Now she’s starring in a new Ralph Lauren campaign, not to mention landingmagazine covers and lingerie ads. (This after her splashy start on the cover of Vogue Italia‘s famous plus-size issue.)

The majority of the industry may still select skinnier-than-thou models, but at age 23, Lawley is representative of the potential success a plus-size model can have. “There are so many plus-size models in New York doing so well at the moment,” she tells “GMA,” “and it’s only going to get better.”

We hope so — if Ralph Lauren could come all this way, we bet other brands can too.

See the gorgeous Aussie in the video above and in her new ads below.

PHOTOS:

robyn lawley

robyn lawley

My Monthly Weigh-in

This morning I did my monthly weigh-in and I’ve lost an extra 7 lbs which makes 20 lbs in total. Yippee!!! Now I have about 20 more to go. I know what some of you must be thinking, but wait a minute, I wasn’t sitting on the couch stuffing my face with cookies and chips, I travel a lot and that caused me to swoop into fast food restaurants, order room service and because of my jet-lag, I didn’t haul my lazy, tired ass to the gym. And good people…it caught up with me big time!

Now I have a regimen I’ve followed for the past 2 months and it includes yoga and aerobic body conditioning on Mondays and Wednesdays, then weight training and water aerobics on Tuesdays and Thursdays. So far it’s working and maybe resisting my urge to suck down every fattening thing I get my hands on is helping too? You think?

I’ve never been a big person but once you start creeping up in age…ahem, pounds seem to stick to you like they’ve been super glued….there’s inch pinching, dimples and a muffin top that should NEVER EVER appear on anyone’s body as long as you’re alive on this earth! You wake up one morning and that dress you thought you’d still be hot in, well, you can’t even get it over your breasts (and if by some miracle of nature you can squeeze it over the boobs from Hell)  you can’t button or zip it up. And let me tell you, I’m deathly afraid of surgeons and scalpels, so no nipping and sucking here…Oh Hell no! Let me not forget Botox, that’s just wrong on multiple levels, but I digressed.

I simply believe that it took time for me to blow up and it’ll take time, patience and persistence to deflate. I did this to myself and no one but me has to suffer the consequences of my binges. That being said, I’m off to the gym to suffer with my friends for a couple of hours and hopefully I’ll continue to survive. Peace!

 Obama 1998 Lo…

Obama 1998 Loyola Speech Leaked: ‘I Believe In

Redistribution’ (AUDIO)

The Huffington Post  |  By  Posted: 09/18/2012 5:27 pm Updated: 09/18/2012 5:30 pm

Share on Google+
Obama Loyola Speech

It turns out Mitt Romney isn’t the only presidential candidate to have a video leak this week.

Fresh on the heels of Romney’s leaked campaign fundraising video, in which the Republican candidate calls 47 percent of Americans “dependent on government” since they don’t pay federal income taxes, a recording from a purported 1998 Loyola University appearance by President Barack Obama has been posted to YouTube.

The sentiments revealed in the more than decade-old Obama video, however, are far different those Romney expressed at a Florida fundraiser this May. Referring to efforts to restore the efficacy of government, then-Illinois state Sen. Obama said:

“The trick is figuring out how do we structure government systems that pool resources and hence facilitate some [wealth] redistribution — because I actually believe in redistribution, at least at a certain level to make sure that everybody’s got a shot.”

A request for comment to confirm the authenticity of the leaked Loyola video was not immediately returned by the Obama campaign.

During his 2008 presidential campaign, some 10 years later, it seemed Obama’s stance on redistribution had changed little. He garnered Republican criticism when he told an Ohio campaign audience, “When you spread the wealth around, it’s good for everybody.”

Obama now may be more wary of such language. Earlier this year when the president pushed for the Buffett Rule, a plan that would have raised taxes on the wealthy, he maintained such a tax increase was not designed to redistribute wealth but to spur investment in the U.S. economy.

The Scoodie  – By Sydney Chandler posted on 9/18/2012

Whoever leaked this audio tape really believed they had an Obama “gotcha” moment. Redistributing the wealth and making sure people got a shot…how dare he! Wanting there to be a fair and equal playing field is so incredibly radical

on Obama’s part, it’s disturbing. When did we become a country who didn’t care about it’s own people? I was taught that when you are able to help someone else as you go up the ladder of success…you do it. Now according to the extremist radical right, anyone who isn’t wealthy is lazy…can you get any lazier than people who were born on third base but started bragging like they hit a triple?