Can I get a Thumbs up on this one!!!

Can I get a Thumbs up on this one!!!.

Can I get a Thumbs up on this one!!!

For once, something that makes sense came out of the mouth of an out of touch politician.

Rick Santorum Says “Smart People Will Never Be On Our Side”

Santorum tells values voters to be wary of the media elite.

Rosie GrayBuzzFeed Staff

Image by Jason Reed / Reuters

Posted Sep 15, 2012 1:07pm EDT

WASHINGTON, DC — Former presidential candidate Rick Santorum attacked the media and “smart people” for not being on the side of conservatives in a speech to the Values Voter Summit on Saturday.

“We will never have the media on our side, ever, in this country,” Santorum, a former Pennsylvania senator, told the audience at the Omni Shoreham hotel. “We will never have the elite, smart people on our side.”

The media “doesn’t like the other side,” Santorum said. “And not necessarily, I would argue, because they agree with them, but because they can influence the country.

“If just a few people make decisions about what this world looks like, what this country looks like, then you have people sitting in offices at major media outlets and Hollywood who think they can deal with a small group of people, to get them to jump through the hoops they want you to,” Santorum said.

Santorum also criticized the libertarian wing of the Republican party for not supporting what he sees as the pillars of conservatism: religion and family.

“When it comes to conservatism libertarian types can say, oh, well you know, we don’t want to talk about social issues,” Santorum said. “Without the church and the family, there is no conservative movement, there is no basic values of America.”

“Though our communicatio…

“Though our communication wanes at times of absence, I’m aware of a strength that emanates in the background.”
-Claudette Renner

You never know how much people truly value you….

I was in a particularly bad way yesterday until I spoke with a friend I hadn’t heard a peep from in months. Because of my mood, I thought…here we go, complain, complain, complain. We all know that sometimes people ghost for long periods of time then out of the blue, your phone rings and BOOM, they only called to tell you about their drama and sometimes it’s far too overwhelming to comprehend. However, much to my surprise, it wasn’t that way at all. She had been missing because she was battling a disease and didn’t want to be a burden on anyone until she knew if she could beat it.

She also told me that what got her through the surgery, the long arduous treatments and the not knowing if she’d live or die, was my crazy musings and all around nuttiness. Every time she was down, she thought of me and heard my voice telling her…”you can do it girl, get up off your ass and beat this thing so I we can go have some retail therapy and a margarita”. After all of these years, I had no clue that she thought of me in this way. I was literally speechless and for me that’s a feat in itself. She stayed positive and fiercely fought her illness because of the effect I had on her…who knew!

The moral of this tale is…we do have an effect on the people in our lives, sometimes more than we know and our words, disposition and personality can either bring  something positive to the table or completely suck the air out of the room. It’s really up to you. I feel it’s easier  to be negative than it is to be positive, because some people get a sick, sort of perverted pleasure in tearing people down…sometimes with swift and blinding speed.  It seems to make them feel superior….that I will never understand. But it does take work when life is kicking your ass to adhere to the
“glass half full” philosophy. However, in the end, it will not only keep you focused, but it could possibly soothe your soul and calm your spirit in the process. My friend is now putting her life back in order, her wonderful husband surprised her with a trip to the Maldives and I know with absolute certainty, this is just another chapter in her life and now she is free to finish the rest of the book. Just puttin’ it out there.

A Boy – Pearlie Birdie

A Boy - Pearlie Birdie

Keep it positive and move forward.

I’m on my way! WhooHoo!!

Well, I’ve finally done it, I’ve started my blog. I know that I need time to find my footing but at least this is a good start. As Skeeter told her soon to be boyfriend in The Help…which by the way was a wonderful movie, “I have plenty to say”. And yes indeed…I do! I don’t want just some run-of-the-mill blog with all sorts of moderation, censorship and the attitude of “I’ll just delete your comment if it offends me”…no! I want people to bring it on and put it out there. We’re adults and as an adult, you should be able to take it. No matter what it is, if someone needs to say it, then that’s why I started this journey…to allow people as well as myself, to have an avenue to get things off their chest.

Hopefully I will have many of you come along on my journey and no matter where it takes us, I feel it will be worth the price of the ticket.

  • about.me

    about.me/sydney.chandler

  • Browse Category

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Latest Tweets

  • Category Cloud